Wk6-Activity-Yarn Bombing

Finding out this week that one of the options or the activity was learning how to knit, I was actually kind of excited. I have always kind of wanted to learn how to knit (screw gender stereotypes right?) so here was my chance. So when I got home, I went to wal-mart and grabbed some surprisingly cheap knitting needles and some yarn (pictured below) and got pulled up a youtube video on knitting.

IMG_1663

My roommate knew how to knit, and I had some idea of what knitting was supposed to look like. The first step in the process was getting the string secured to one of the needles. This first step aline was enough to break my confidence. It took a good three to four tries to get it on the needle properly. The next step was even more complicated. It involved looping the string around the needle a specific way about 15 times. After about thirty minutes I achieved the results seen below. Pictured next to it is a screenshot of the video I was watching. As you can see, mine wasn’t the prettiest…

IMG_1665 Screen Shot 2015-03-01 at 4.42.02 PM

After getting into the swing of things and failing a countless number of times, I finally was able to get a rhythm of stitching going which greatly helped me with time. The goal was to thread one of the strings into the other while holding the others in place with needles. Below are pictures of the process and the results. What I learned from this experience is that people who crochet have mad skills. The amount of concentration and focus it took just to make the lumpy patch that I made was way more than I had anticipated. So the next time I see a knitted sweater or beanie, I;m going to fine the person who made it, and congratulate them.

IMG_1667 IMG_1668

As for the FA2 building, I didn’t really find many of the pieces that inspiring when it came to knitting. There were some interesting pieces that I thought were cool and different, but not ones that would help give me ideas for knitting or yarn bombing.

IMG_1635 IMG_1634

Leave a Reply

