Wk13-Interview-Aleks Kivuls

As the semester comes to a close, it becomes harder and harder to work up the motivation to meet and have conversations with new people. Not that I don’t enjoy the conversations, but being social can be exhausting. Given all of this, I was glad that Aleks was the person I talked to this week.

At first glance, Aleks did not seem like the talkative type, so I didn’t think of asking him at first. However, after seeing that pretty much everyone else had a partner, I decided to talk to him. To my excitement, he actually turned out to be pretty fun to talk to! Aleks is a sophomore Computer Science Major from Peninsula High School in Palos Verdes. He has hopes of working with artificial intelligence, and maybe even the government one day. After we learned some general knowledge about each other, the conversation kind of came to a halt. However, when I asked about his hobbies, he mentioned videogames, and we hit it off.

Since moving to college, I have laid off most of the video games for time’s sake. However, I still enjoy keeping up to date with the latest and greatest of them. Aleks and I mentioned our favorite types of games and what we liked and disliked about them. It turns out that we like almost opposite genres of games; I like the big triple A titles, while he likes the indie games. Despite this, we still seemed to enjoy ourselves. This conversation just goes to show that you never know who you might hit it off with unless you say “hello.”

Leave a Reply

